Documentation:Decommissioning a Media Server in VERITAS NetBackup (tm) Enterprise Server 6.0 (UNIX)

In the following procedure the media server that is being decommissioned is referred to as the old_server and the new media server as new_server.

Refer to VERITAS NetBackup System Administrator's Guide for UNIX, Volume I or VERITAS NetBackup System Administrator's Guide for Windows, Volume I for more information for the steps involving configuring NetBackup.

1. Run the bpmedialist command to determine which tapes on the old_server have NetBackup images that have not expired (the -l option produces one line of output per tape).

#bpmedialist -mlist -l -h old_server

2. Select another server or the master server (new_server) to manage the tapes from the old_server. Run the bpmedia command for each tape that has active images as identified in step 1. This updates the EMM database records, replacing the old_server with the new_server, and updating the images database on the master server.

#bpmedia -movedb -ev media_ID -oldserver old_server -newserver new_server

3. Add the following command to the end of the bp.conf file on the master server to allow restores to occur from a media server other than the server that performed the original backups. old_server is the media server that performed the original backups and new_server is the server that will be used for future NetBackup restores (see step 2).

FORCE_RESTORE_MEDIA_SERVER = old_server new_server

4. Use the Media and Device Management GUI to move the tapes that are in robots attached to the old_server to non-robotic status (standalone). Select each robot attached to the old_server, highlight all of the tapes, and move them to standalone.
See “Moving Volumes” on page 151.

5. Use the Media and Device Management GUI to delete the drives and then the robots from the old_server.
See “Managing Your Device Configuration” on page 76.

6. Use the Storage Unit Management GUI to delete all storage units associated with robots that are associated with the old_server.

7. If any robots from the old_server will be reused on other media servers, do the following steps:

a. Power down the affected servers and make any cabling changes required to physically attach the robots to the new media servers. Verify that the robots are recognized by the operating system on the new media servers.

b. Use the Media and Device Management GUI to add the robots and drives to those media servers.
See “Adding Robots Manually” on page 51 and “Adding Drives” on page 61.

c. Use the Storage Unit Management GUI to create the appropriate NetBackup storage units.

d. Use the Media and Device Management GUI to inventory the robots attached to the new_server. This will update the location of all tapes in these robots.

8. Modify any policies that explicitly specified any of the storage units on the old_server. These policies must be changed to point to any other defined storage units in the NetBackup configuration or to Any Available, as appropriate.

9. Update the bp.conf and vm.conf files (or their equivalent on Windows servers) on the master server and all media servers in the NetBackup configuration to remove any reference to the old_server.

10. Use nbemmcmd to remove the host aliases and host names referencing the old_server. Run nbemmcmd -listhosts to verify that all references have been removed.

11. Update the server list on all clients to no longer refer to the old_server. Restart the NetBackup daemons (or services) on any system where these files are modified.

*All page stated in this document referring to VERITAS NetBackup (tm) 6.0 Media Manager System Administrator's Guide for UNIX

1 comments:

Riezal said...

Nice blog bro.. keep posting.